i climbed koko head trail and all i got was this stupid cast

this is me 2 hrs before the fall. let's just call it BF.

jon and girls BF

view from 500 steps

my girls are tough

jon carried lenore on his back a bit

go raven!

he carried raven a little bit too.

look at me!

me with lenore

daddy and his girls made it

view from the top

girls at the top

my 5 yr old was so proud of her climb

here i am AF (taken about an hour ago)

** i know i wrote that i would not blog again until Tuesday, but i am typing with one hand and this may take forever. i apologize for the lack of capitalization.

so….how was everyone’s 4th? mine was interesting. friday was fantastic and i’ll posy about that later this week. we saw fireworks, but this climb/fall is by far the most interesting.

as you can see koko head trail is beautiful but very high and dangerous if you’re a klutz like me.

we made it all the way to the top without incident. the girls were amazing. jon carried them on his back for some of it but they did the majority of the climb on their own tiny legs.

the top does not disappoint. it’s the climb DOWN that will get you. it got me.

there are 1200 steps all together. at about 700…heading down…i lost my footing on some loose gravel. i felt my wrist snap as i put my hands out to brace my fall. OUCH!!!  tons of people rushed to my aid and i should blog about the kindness of strangers later this week.

it took me much longer to climb the 700 remainder steps down as every step hurt the wrist. jon took the girls down but i was slow.

i was in and out of the er rather quick and i bonded with a guy with a broken leg. boating accident.

now i’m a little loopy from the meds. so i’m signing out.

bye for now 🙂

About designerdenise

Married, living out in Hawaii with 3 children and loving life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to i climbed koko head trail and all i got was this stupid cast

  1. Abby says:

    Oh my gosh. I hope your wrist will feel better soon! Broken? Ouch!

    Little girls look like they’re having fun, though!

  2. Connie says:

    Ouch! I hope you heal quickly, Denise.

    • thanks…i always do but i can’t quite make it through the night without meds. one wrong bump from a sleeping jon is quite a jolt. tonight it is the couch for me with no meds.

  3. Becky says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to you Denise, and I’m sending prayers for a quick recovery♥

  4. Thanks Becky…it really is a lovely hike if you get past the slip factor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

