The Rings

Raven's ring. Onyx is strong and beautiful, just like Raven. All it needs is larger diamonds on either side and the chip to be buffed out.

Lenore's ring. I think a white gold setting with a couple of diamonds will make this a stunning ring for my blue-eyed girl.

When I was teenager, I was a huge fan of Black Onyx and pearls. Rubies were pretty cool too but given the choice I would have taken a black onyx ring over any other stone 9 times out of 10. I was drawn to the sleek elegance and the simplicity of the onyx. Diamonds and gemstones usually had to be cut many times to reflect the light and reveal their beauty. On the other hand the Onyx doesn’t need to be cut with hundreds of facets to shine.  It has a unique beauty that stands on its own.

When I turned 16, my parents gave me the black Onyx ring (instead of my birthstone which is the emerald) in the photo. It is an emerald cut Onyx with 3 tiny little diamonds on either side in a 18kt. yellow gold setting. My parents knew I preferred white gold and apologized with the explanation that white gold was not available for that setting at the time but it didn’t matter to me. I loved my ring.

For the next several years, I proudly wore my ring. Two years before Jon proposed I accidentally hit my hand against a cabinet during a game of indoor hide and seek with the kids at the day camp (my place of employment). The result was a tiny chip to the Onyx and I put it away for safe keeping.  As time wore on Jon proposed and the only 2 rings to grace my hand were my engagement ring and wedding band. The black onyx sits in its box but it is not alone.

About 12 years ago, my parents went on a European vacation and while there purchased a lovely gemstone for me. My mom found a jewelery shop that sold loose stones and bought this stunning emerald cut Aquamarine stone. It’s gorgeous. Brilliant blue. Stunning. I put it with the Onyx ring with the intention of having it made into a nice pendant for myself but never got around to it as there was always something else to buy for the house, kids, car and so on.

Then I had two daughters.

A couple of months ago I was cleaning out my jewelery box with the girls and out fell the ring and stone. The girls instinctively grabbed the treasure of their choice. Raven snatched up the Onyx and Lenore coveted the Aquamarine. “Ooohhh!” they squealed with delight. “Can we have these?!”

The answer was yes and no. I had the idea then and there that these would make perfect Sweet Sixteen rings when the time came. Raven’s ring will need to be repaired, re-sized, and (at her request) have larger diamonds replace the tiny diamonds. I can live with that.

Lenore wants a ring to match her blue eyes, so I’m thinking it should be a white gold setting (possibly antique filigree) with a couple of small diamonds. Something brilliant.

Now the only challenge is listening to their constant requests to see “their rings”. They ask about their future jewelery weekly. It’s my fault. I started this. Truthfully I don’t mind. I’m just grateful Jon and I have something special for both girls and that they chose differently according to their personalities.

What do you save for your children? I would love to hear about it. 🙂

About designerdenise

Married, living out in Hawaii with 3 children and loving life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rings

  1. Connie says:

    I have a promise ring (meant to remind one to remain pure before marriage) that I intend to pass down to Catherine when she is a teenager. It is a pewter ring (not real spectacular, but I liked it when I was younger) that has Jesus on the cross on it. I remember I purchased it at KMart and made the promise to my parents that I wouldn’t have premarital sex before I got married. I was somewhere between 15-16 when I got it and wore it until I got my engagement ring. What a great reminder for myself!

Leave a Reply

